Ode to the Sky V

People observe the colors of a day only at its beginnings and ends, but to me it’s quite clear that a day merges through a multitude of shades and intonations, with each passing moment. A single hour can consist of thousands of different colors. Waxy yellows, cloud-spat blues. Murky darknesses.

The fifth Ode to the Sky offers a collection of poems, quotes, photographs and art. The latter goes beyond strokes of a paint brush on a canvas. It is what today’s artists create, digital art. We realized the sky told a million stories, and we are both happy and proud to have given words to at least a handful of them. We noticed, we observed. We saw the various shades the sky offered, with no discrimination, no hate, no bias. The blues, the yellows and purples, they are one and the same, for you and for me.

Those ages back
We gazed westwards,
To see the falling orb
Those ages back,
We soared right on,
Where none might ever return!
We sailed the air, through dawn and dusk
And we all saw through our souls
As we let the rays caress us,

And lend strength unto our wings
Poem By Vasika Udurawane
Artwork By Vasika Udurawane
(All works of art are the property of Vasika Udurawane and has been used with his direct permission)

Behind the Clouds

Rise in the morn
bright and ablaze…
Shine on the world
bringing a new day…

If he gets angry
at certain times…
He glares fiercely
making us uneasy…

Racing among clouds
and getting hidden…
Covering his blaze
behind screens…

Playing hide and seek
and peeping at us…
As if feeling shy
to face the Earth

 Poem By Vijini Mallawaarachchi 
Photograph By Rochelle Silva
“I have walked that long road to freedom. I have tried not to falter; I have made missteps along the way. But I have discovered the secret that after climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb. I have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of the glorious vista that surrounds me, to look back on the distance I have come. But I can rest only for a moment, for with freedom comes responsibilities, and I dare not linger, for my long walk is not yet ended.”
-Nelson Mandela-

Photograph By Nishellie Rajapakse

Round coasts did I wonder
All the mounds did I scale, and never did believe
As I gazed deep into your eyes
Why ever did you climb so high?
Why did you leave this world?
Why furred goddess, what could you….
know now what I must learn?

Goddess, oh being beyond feeble mind!
As you catch every burst and draft,
And go where none will ever find…
Find you, for we will not see you in the skies
Forever journeying, forever yearning, forever out of sight
You rosy-fingered dawn,
You crimson-toed dusk.
You gentle breath of spring,
that comes by on powered wings,
Oh furred being do I want you, to see what you do see,
But what a fool am I! All the skies do belong to thee…
Poem By Vasika Udurawane
Artwork By Vasika Udurawane
(All works of art are the property of Vasika Udurawane and has been used with his direct permission)

Skies

Where heaven rests also does hell
The thunder clouds
On a stormy day
The wind howls through the
Shivering trees
Angels hide in their palaces
Of gold, made

But then shining through the clouds
The sun’s golden rays peak at the world
Drenched in the waters of the sky
The world lies still, scared and tired

And yet, the heavens dry
Whatever remaining evidence of
The great hell’s tearful cry
And once again the skies are clear

Poem By Shailendree Wickrama Adittiya
Photograph By Rochelle Silva
You hang this day, all brown and dusty,
But sailed the skies so pure
Your eyes are dead, your fur is rot,
But glowed then in the days of yore
For the open skies had taken you,
Caressed and held and fed,
But my open sky, when I look now,
Oh it feels me deep with dread
Dread that one day the hand of fate
Removes me from earthly grasp. That the forces
Those that wiped you out, may be back again at last
For sinned have I,
Your home I tainted, as all us men have done
And yet, I know that this is one battle,
A battle that was never won.
For the open skies were once all yours,
Great god of northern lands.
Pteranodon longiceps
Your name does strike much fear,
I see now! I feel now! The spirits gently burn!
of eons past, and eons to come,
but oh do I yearn….
For all we peoples ever want, is to fly upon your return

 Poem By Vasika Udurawane
Artwork By Vasika Udurawane
(All works of art are the property of Vasika Udurawane and has been used with his direct permission)

 

 

Thought: The Sun doesn’t Set

He stands against the
setting sun
staring into the nothingness
of the oceans great
or the skies so far
Thought: the sun doesn’t set
It is stationary.
The Earth orbits around it
We are the ones moving
Forever and ever, until we stop
Thought: knowing the sun is still
doesn’t change it’s unmoving-ness
knowledge is good, to be yearned for
but knowledge,
it doesn’t change the truth
He stands against the
orange skies
darkening with each breath
he smiles, for he knows,
he sees the truth for what it is

Poem By Shailendree Wickrama Adittiya

Quiet Canvas

“My thoughts are stars
I cannot fathom into
Constellations,”
The author wrote.
She thought of it
As she stared up at the
Star studded sky
Each burning light
A thought
A feeling
An emotion
But beyond the stars
The sky,
Great, vast, limitless
But a quite canvas
On which
The stars shine!

Poem By Shailendree Wickrama Adittiya
Artwork By ririna-olze
(Artwork is the property of ririna-olze and has been used with his/her direct permission)

Sky is no limit

Feet on the ground
wandering along…
Below are the limits
for this torso…

Mind inside the head
wandering everywhere…
There are no limits
for the thoughts…

Sky is no limit
for this wandering mind…
No need of wings
we can fly without wings…

Imagination…
Will be a reality…
On that day 

Things will change…


Poem By Vijini Mallawaarachchi 
Artwork by PetiteBubu
(Artwork is the property of PetiteBubu and has been used with her direct permission)
I watch the world
As it sinks away
Even though
I seem be the one
Sinking
I say good bye
As I take away
The light they found
A friend in
The golden sand
I once burned to a crisp
Now cool and quiet
Ready for the night
The breeze takes away
The dirt left behind
By those
Wandering humans
And I say good bye
For tomorrow
There mayn’t be an Earth
For me to light
I say good bye for soon enough
They will be gone
And I can smile again
Poem By Shailendree Wickrama Adittiya
Photograph By Rochelle Silva

Dark Skies


The powder blue
Of the mornings young
Or the darker one
Of afternoons bright
Nor the oranges
Or pinks
Of the evenings quiet

It was black
Of the nights so cold
The nights so dark
The nights so empty

It wasn’t a shield anymore
No, the sky had chosen
It had chosen the gods of hate
It had chosen to reveal

For the dark skies
Make us remember
The hate
Make us see
The corruption
Make us cry
Of pain, hurt
The dark skies,
They show,
They reveal

 
Poem By Shailendree Wickrama Adittiya
Photograph By Rochelle Silva
6 thoughts on “Ode to the Sky V”

  1. This is the longest and one of the loveliest of the “ode” posts!! Well done Shailee! The quote at the beginning seems to have been written specially for this post! 😀 😀 Awesome! Adorable introduction! I love the lines “We saw the various shades the sky offered, with no discrimination, no hate, no bias. The blues, the yellows and purples, they are one and the same, for you and for me.”Quiet Canvas- It is very creative of you to compare the random yet meaningful thoughts that run through our mind with stars that shine in the sky…

  2. Open Skies-This poem has a nice rhythm to it. Kudos on the selection of words! They bring out the apologetic mood of the poem very well! I like the lines “For the open skies had taken you,Caressed and held and fed,But my open sky, when I look now,Oh it feels me deep with dread”

  3. It’s so different, yet pleasant, to call an ornithocheirus as a goddess! You’ve expressed genuine emotions in a beautiful way, specially in the lines :“Why did you leave this world?Why furred goddess, what could you….”I like the last couplet which pretty much sums up everything;“Oh furred being do I want you, to see what you do see,But what a fool am I! All the skies do belong to thee…”

  4. The quote was utter luck. I had just started rereading the Book Thief and this was on the second page or so. First thought was; "this needs to go on the post!"

Leave a Reply

